It rained heavily today, making me so tired and weak to move. I lay beneath my warm blanket and traveled down memory lane to my very first day in the university.
I’ve always wanted to leave the house Because I was so tired of being told what to do every single time. I hate being scolded (everyone does).

I already knew the kind of impression I wanted to make in school because I was expecting highly from my course mates. Sadly I saw the opposite of what I was expecting in school. The first thing I noticed was : Dumb people every where. Well not exactly dumb academically, Just very stupid people. It was obvious they just left secondary school. The way they shouted in class reminded me of the pepper sellers in the streets of oshodi market.

The way some ran around the classroom chasing themselves like we were in crΓ¨che, the stupid questions they asked in class…

Everything almost drove me crazy and for a split second I asked myself if this was a dream or a prank. It wasn’t cool at all. My friend said my department was filled with handsome guys, but when I looked around the class, I concluded she was suffering from severe eye issues. Probably worse than mine. At least I would be forced to concentrate in class since there was nothing to drool about.
That wasn’t even my problem. The food was my problem. Like why would you call something that has only pepper content in it a “fish roll”. That’s a very fraudulent act if you ask me. The so-called fish roll was hard as a stone. For a moment I was scared for people’s teeth. The zobo was a mixture of colouring and sugar. The meat pie was strong and empty. No meat but, there was a lot of sand to compensate the consumer. It was like the meat pie was made of sand. I am never buying snacks over here again.

To top it all, The environment was a total village. The only thing people in this area knew how to do was fry yams and potatoes. They couldn’t even make proper sauce to consume it. I kept asking myself one question “how am I going to survive this horrible place”
The only good thing was the fact I was staying off campus. So I was free from rampant eyesores in the hostel… Everything was so fake and expensive. Weirdos everywhere. It was obvious that most people in this part of the country didn’t have mirrors in their houses.

But here I am today. I’ve gotten used to everything (except the weirdos) and sadly I’ve gotten used to their hard and pepper filled fish rolls, their stupid and sugary zobo, and every other thing I thought I was going to die because of…
My neighbor’s knock brought me back from my trance. He was also one of the people I’d gotten used to (He wasn’t weird but he sassed a lot. Very annoying)
“I’ve finished cooking. Do you want to eat?” He asked.
“Yaaaaay! I’m coming to eat. Let me bring my spoon.” I said with a very big smile.
“I know that’s what you like. I’m waiting for you sha” he said while laughing lightly.
As he left, I kept asking myself how a guy as handsome and muscular as he was could cook so well and still be so caring and charming and organized.
His neat and organized cream coloured room was a complete contrast to my pink coloured room.
“Ohhh well that’s a thought for another day”
I said to myself as I dashed out of my room with my spoon.

2 thoughts on “Memory lane πŸƒπŸ

Leave a comment